This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

9.9 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
10
Property location
10
Facilities
10
Staff
10
Value
9.7
Reviews
    Michael
    at
    10
    5 December 2017
    Magical, no words can describe it!
    nothing
    no words could describe all the positives - staff is incredible, tents are magical, the whole stay was fantastic
    Mike
    gb
    10
    22 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Stephen
    gb
    10
    2 November 2017
    Exceptional
    Having to leave
    Most wonderful place to celebrate our 30 Th anniversary, staff were so good , food excellent and the Safari tours were out of this world
    JUDITH
    es
    10
    26 August 2017
    Amazing resort in Amakhala Game Reserve.
    Nothing. Everything perfect. We would stay much longer.
    Amazing resort in Amakhala Game Reserve. Very friendly staff. Excellent food. Superb room tents with spectacular views of the reserve and animals. Sebastian, an amazing guide for the safaris. Thank you!!
    Michael
    gb
    10
    23 July 2017
    A place to view wild animals and stay in friendly luxury whilst doing so.
    The fact we couldn't stay longer!!
    Everything about Hillsnek is fantastic, from the accommodation to the staff (they were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us), to the food and the game drives, many propertys' could learn a lot from Hillsnek.
    Carolyn
    au
    10
    27 May 2017
    Great fun
    Nothing
    The privacy of your tent with a wonderful outdoor shower so much fun. The food excellent and plentiful.Loved the early morning safaris, with the smell of the bush and a loverly hot water bottle to keep you warm. Drinks of a good standard and staff went out of their way to be helpful.
    Gillian
    gb
    10
    13 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    9.6
    8 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Daniela
    de
    10
    2 April 2017
    You don't want to miss this!
    This was our 2nd visit to a game reserve in South Africa. We were a little bit concerned that our 1st visit couldn't be topped, but it was by all means. Starting with the beautiful setting of the location, the intimate atmosphere, the great staff, our experienced and very passionate ranger Byron, the food, the amazing game drives, the experiences we made! It's been one of those that we will never forget! Truly amazing!
    Caesar
    nl
    9.6
    22 March 2017
    Staff, room, breakfast, dinner. Everything was perfect!
    Sarah
    gb
    10
    4 March 2017
    Unforgettable experience
    Renzi and his staff were impeccable. Service, food, atmosphere fabulous. Rangers knowledge and enthusiasm knew no bounds. Fantastic well done Matt
    David
    gb
    10
    21 February 2017
    Wonderful place to stay while enjoying the amazing experiences of the Amakala Reserve.
    Hillsneck is luxurious but not at all pretentious. There are only four 'tents' (think glamping not camping), meaning a maximum of perhaps ten guests, so it is very relaxed. The bar / lounge / pool area is very comfortable. Dining is done together - great for getting to know people and sharing the experiences of the game drives - though if you prefer, you can have meals on the patio of the tent. The food and wine were very good and the atmosphere under the African stars was unbeatable. At all times, the staff are welcoming, attentive and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. There are two drives a day, early morning and late afternoon. There will only be four, perhaps five people in each Landcruiser and in the evening there is a stop for sundowners - the light as the sun sets while you sip a g&t is magical - but nothing beats the array of wildlife we saw - lions nearly making a kill, elephants, rhinos, a cheetah, beautiful gazelles, zebras, giraffes, monkeys, jackals, birds galore, including many incredibly close encounters (think 'sit still and don't make eye contact' as a lioness prowled past the front of the jeep!). The rangers who drive you are exceptionally knowledgeable. A great all round experience.
    Andrew
    im
    10
    18 February 2017
    Exceptional location, staff and food - a relaxing and memorable experience
    Nothing
    Everything was superb. The team were helpful and friendly and very knowledgeable. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. Our ranger, Byron, was enthusiastic, interesting and fun and made our safari a memorable experience.
    Christine
    gb
    10
    7 February 2017
    Just magical.
    Can't think of anything.
    Everything was perfect. The staff were excellent as was the attention to detail.
    Stephen
    gb
    10
    5 February 2017
    Amazing experience
    Exceeded expections beyond previous safari experience. So close to the wildlife and amazing landscape. Excellent food and relaxation between drives.
    rachel
    gb
    10
    14 January 2017
    Epic stay at Hillsnek
    The property only has four luxury tents and from the moment you arrive you are welcomed with friendly faces. The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you. Brad, our game driver was awesome, we were always the first on the reserve to find the animals and he is so knowledgable! There is a lovely pool to relax by and the tents are truly stunning. Couldn't recommend enough!
    gb
    10
    31 December 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Georgina
    gb
    10
    24 November 2016
    Bucket list trip
    Fabulous experience accommodation meals hospitality awesome. Ranger Matt was so enthusiastic and caring about the animals. Loved every minute.
    Priscila
    br
    10
    27 September 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Katie
    gb
    10
    14 June 2016
    Lodge of a lifetime
    Nothing
    Incredible! Could have stayed for weeks. Food amazing, staff lovely and overall camp and experience out of this world! Am definitely coming back! Xx
Loading reviews
Close